The Principal


Dr. N R. Alamelu


Dr. N R. Alamleu presently, The Principal of Sri Ramakrishna Engineering College, Coimbatore, is the recipient of the ISTE- Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan National Award for Best Engineering College Principal for the year 2015. She received her Ph.D. in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Bhrathiyar University, Coimbatore. She holds her Masters in Applied Electronics from Madras University and Bachelors in Electronics and Communication Engineering with honours from Madras University. She has about 55 technical and research publications and presentations to her credit in International and National journals and conferences. She has guided 5 Ph.D. Scholars. Her research areas include Broadband Networks, Security, Communication Systems and Image Processing.

Has 32 years of academic experience in various Engineering Institutions – PSG College of Technology, Mohamed Sathak Group of Institutions, Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute and Aarupadai Veedu Institute of Technology. She has 10 years of experience as Dean and Principal.

Various professional Society Chapters
  • She has been the Chairperson of IEEE- Madras Section for two years 2014, 2015
  • Vice Chair, IEEE, Madras Section - 2012
  • Secretary IEEE, Madras Section 2010, 2011
  • Chairperson IEEE, Communication Society Chapter -2015
  • Visiting professor ISTE 2011-2012
  • Life Member - ISTE
  • Fellow of IETE
  • Management Committee member Computer Society of India, Coimbatore Chapter 2013-2014, 2015, 2016
  • Special Invitee, Management Committee - The Southern India Engineering Manufacturers’ Association, Coimbatore 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
  • Academic Council Member, Anna University, Chennai nominated by His Excellency the Governor – Chancellor, 2014, 2015 and 2016
  • Member – CII, Coimbatore Zone Education and Industry Institute Interaction Panel-2015, 2016
  • Member – CII, Tamil Nadu state panel on Skill Development and Education- 2015
  • Member – CII, Indian Women Network, Coimbatore Zone – 2015, 2016